The International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) has appointed the 21 chairs for its various Commissions and Advisory Groups tasked with restoring the reputation of the world governing body.

Former British Government Minister Paul Deighton, who worked closely with the current IAAF President Sebastian Coe as chief executive of the 2012 Olympics and Paralympics in London, will lead the Audit and Finance Commission.

He is already carrying out a financial review of the IAAF.

South Africa’s Harold Adams, who recommended the withdrawal of London 2012 silver medallist Caster Semenya from the 2009 World Championships in Berlin due to doubts over her gender, has been selected as the chairperson of the Medical and Anti-Doping Commission.

Confederation of African Athletics President Hamad Kalkaba Malboum of Cameroon will head up the Development Commission, while his North American, Central American and Caribbean Athletics Association counterpart Victor Lopez of Puerto Rico will be chair of the Coaches Commission.

Canada’s Abby Hoffman, 800 metres gold medallist at the British Empire and Commonwealth Games in Kingston in 1966, has been chosen to lead the Competition Commission.

The head of the Legal Commission will be Maria Clarke, a lawyer from New Zealand, with Frenchman Pierre Weiss, who was IAAF secretary general for much of former President Lamine Diack’s 16-year tenure in charge of the organisation, heading up the Masters’ Commission.

International Olympic Committee (IOC) member Prince Albert II of Monaco will lead the International Relations Commission.

Italian Carlo Capalbo has been selected to front the Road Running Commission and French Athletics Federation President Bernard Amsalem has been selected to chair the Values Commission.

The Youth Engagement and Social Media Commission will be headed by Qatar’s Dahlan Al Hamad.

Slovenian high jumper Rožle Prezelj was elected as the new chair of the IAAF Athletes’ Commission at a meeting in Monte Carlo last month.

The IAAF has also revealed the chairs of the different Advisory Groups, with USA Track and Field chief executive and President Max Seigel and Stephanie Hightower put in charge of Commercial and Marketing and Conflict Resolution respectively.

Former President of European Athletics Hansjörg Wirz of Switzerland has been appointed to the role of chair of the Competition Calendar Advisory Group.

Rajne Soderberg of Sweden has been placed at the helm of the One-Day Meetings Advisory Group and L'Equipe journalist Marc Ventouillac of France will chair the Press and Media Operations Advisory Group.

Israeli IOC member Alex Gilady and retired Dutch athlete Sylvia Barlag have been selected to front the Advisory Groups for Television and Digital and Sustainable Development respectively.

Other chairs include Libor Varhanik, President of the Czech Republic Athletics Federation, and Adille Sumariwalla of India.

They will lead the World Athletics Series Renovation Advisory Group and Strategic Communications Advisory Group respectively.

“The Commission chairs draw upon the vast array of experience and expertise from across the globe, from within and outside the athletics family, and their combined knowledge will be an important resource to build a modern sport which is open to new ideas and is fast and responsive to the challenges which lie ahead,” Coe said.

The IAAF are hoping for "fundamental programme of change" within its governance.

The organisation has been rocked by the doping crisis in the sport.