Saint Lucia’s Government has named the Beauséjour Stadium after International Cricket Council (ICC) World Twenty20 winning captain Darren Sammy, it has been announced.

The venue will now be called the Darren Sammy National Cricket Stadium following the West Indies' triumph at the tournament, where they overcame England in a thrilling final at Eden Gardens in Kolkata to become the first team in history to win the competition twice.

A stand at the facility will carry the name of West Indies opening batsman Johnson Charles, also a member of the victorious side captained by Sammy.

The two players were given a hero’s welcome upon their return to Hewanorra International Airport earlier this week.

They were greeted by Prime Minister Kenny Anthony and a host of enthusiastic supporters.

“I am truly honoured, I am humbled and blessed,” said Sammy.

“Thank you, we always know St Lucians love their own and the love and respect and admiration I have just received at the airport, oh my God, thank you very much.”

The West Indies lifted the trophy in India having overcome England in a pulsating final last Sunday (April 2), where Carlos Brathwaite struck four sixes off the 20th over, bowled by Ben Stokes, to see his side reach their victory target of 156.

The 27-year-old from Barbados, who eventually ended with an unbeaten 34, shared a crucial partnership with Marlon Samuels, who played a series of fluent shots on his way to finishing 85 not out, the highest-ever score in a World Twenty20 final.

Success for the West Indies, whose pre-tournament preparations were marred by a dispute with their Cricket Board, had appeared unlikely as Joe Root took two surprise wickets, including dangerman Chris Gayle, early on in their reply to reduce them to 11-3.

They managed to recover and give themselves a chance but needed 19 off the final over, which they got thanks to Brathwaite’s brutal innings.