T&T’s Bob Roopnarine has been appointed honorary secretary of the Caribbean Regional Table Tennis Federation (CTTF) for the next two years after being proposed for the position by Guyana and seconded by Jamaica when the CRTTF held its annual general meeting during the ongoing 58th CRTTF Championship in Santo Domimgo, Dominican Republic on Monday.

Roopnarine, the current technical director of the CRTTF Championship previously held the same position from 2004–2008

Heading the CRTTF will be St Lucian Teddy Matthews who was proposed by Jamaica and seconded by Dominican Republic, while the other executive members are Martinique’s Jean-Michael Talba (vice president), Cuban Barbaro Oliva (vice president), St Lucian Adrian Albert (treasurer), and Council members John Pilgrim (Barbados), Giovanny Cruceta (Dominican Republic), Godfrey Lothian (Jamaica) and Linden Johnson (Guyana) while the returning officer is Ramon Ortega Montes

During the meeting, former International Table Tennis Federation president Adham Sharara made a commitment to work on a project which would be beneficial to all of the CRTTF affiliate countries while Pan American President Juan Vila promised more assistance for the CRTTF affiliates.

According to the CRTTF release, these ventures will be not only equipment donations but the facilitation of Developmental courses of which T&T is one of the immediate beneficiaries of an equipment donation by the ITTF (the World Body).